Throwback Thursday: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, #1)

In preparation for Mercy Thompson’s 9th book, I decided to go back to the beginning and read Moon Called again just to see how far we’ve seen Mercy grow.  My goal is to finish re-reading the entire series this year, but since I want to share Fire Touched with you next week Wednesday, I’ll focus on the first book for now.

This book was just as captivating and intriguing as I remember it, which according to Goodreads, the last time I read this book was back in 2007.  The main protagonist, Mercy, has a lot of depth and complexity as a character, which shines through the slightly clunky text of this first book.

Patricia brings together many supernatural elements in this series setup, and shows her readers how they interact without bogging the story down with heavy exposition.  Mercy provides a lot of the backstory exposition in her thoughts and reflections on events, and I found I didn’t mind this approach.

The writing style is very fluid, easy-to-read, and doesn’t leave room for dead space.  The clunky aspect comes in with the amount of characters that are introduced, who are all important to the plot of this first book.  Several of them are only fringe characters in this book, but become more important over the course of the series, but introducing that many characters is incredibly ambitious and hard for the readers to keep track of.

That being said, I liked or loved almost all of those characters.  Patricia certainly knows how people function, and most of her characters did not read as stereotypical or caricatures at all.  In fact, I found the whole book highly believable and wondered whether I could visit these characters in Montana on my next trip out.  Moon Called works as a fantastic example of what urban fantasy is, and I find myself recommending the series often.

Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson, #9)

Next week, I’ll feature Fire Touched as my Waiting on Wednesday review, so make sure to come back and check it out!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Leave a Reply

