Waiting on Wednesday: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2)ISBN: 9780062317414    ISBN 10: 0062317415
Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
On Sale: 04/05/2016
Pages: 544
List Price: 17.99 USD

Sequel to The Orphan Queen

 

The Mirror King picks up in the same scene that The Orphan Queen ended on, which means that no time has passed in between books.  And this is good for readers who were worried about the events left hanging in that major cliffhanger last year.  Because of this though, I will try not to include any spoilers in my review, which means that I won’t be discussing any specific scenes and avoiding as many text references as possible.

Edited: Unfortunately, a draft version was posted to my blog this morning instead of the final.  Sorry for the inconvenience!  Here’s my actual review instead of the notes.

Both Wil and Tobiah show growth throughout this narrative even as events and circumstances make the future look bleak and unknown.  The wraith boy brought more knowledge about the wraith’s movements and history without the exposition seeming too heavy.  Actually, I thought the pacing for this book matched that of the first book with plenty of action, reaction, and governing scenes interspersed so that everything was interesting.

For those wondering about the romance, I can’t say too much without spoiling stuff, but be assured that it does exist, it is not over-the-top, and it doesn’t take up much of the story overall.  I did find what happened at the end a little too quick to forgive, but it worked.  I actually prefer when romance takes a backseat to the story, so this really worked for me.

Without going into details about what actually happened, I want to share my feelings about the ending.  I found the ending both satisfying and frustrating because I recognized that Wil’s story had run its course, but the world itself still has plenty left for exploration.  I’m hoping that Jodi has plans for more stories set in her universe as I wanted to know more about how this world works and how the changes put into motion were going to turn out.  Overall, this was a fantastic series that I’m recommending to all my friends, including YOU!  Pick it up, you won’t be sorry 🙂

From the publisher:

In this stunning conclusion to The Orphan Queen, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen. This epic fantasy duology is perfect for fans of Graceling by Kristin Cashore, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.

Princess Wilhelmina is ready for her crown, but declaring herself queen means war. Her magic is uncontrollable and now there’s a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. Princess Wilhelmina’s ability might be just the thing to help reclaim her kingdom—or ruin it forever.

Leave a Reply

