BEA Thursday: Day Two

IMG_2625

I honestly have no idea how people have super fun-filled, exhausting days and still find the time to blog at the end of it.  I started this post last night so I could try and stay only one day behind, but my eyes kept drooping and I had no motivation to transfer the all-important pictures from my iPod touch over to my laptop.  (I discovered how much of a pain that was the night before!)  However, I did accomplish a large chunk of my goals, took plenty of notes of the work related things, and managed to collect plenty of books and autographs.  Here are some observations from my panels:

Metadata needs to be consistent and accurate to better help sell books.  Also, the more specific, the better it can be found by the people both looking and not looking for it.

There are quite a few micro-trends happening in YA right now, but we all agree that series are still going strong with no sign of easing.

There are a lot of great books coming out this fall!

I was able to attend the cover unveiling for Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (gorgeous, isn’t it?).  I had the great pleasure of explaining the phenomenon with several passers-by who wanted to know what the small cloud of people was excited about.

IMG_2630

My autographing highlights for today included:

  • Brandon Mull-Ticketed autograph line
  • Laini Taylor-Found her roaming around!
  • Shannon & Dean Hale-Had a lovely discussion with them both at the Candlewick Press party
  • Sarah Porter-In-booth signing
  • Eoin Colfer-In-booth signing with portable battery giveaway

IMG_2632

My book haul consisted of:

  • The Call from Scholastic (booktalked as similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses)
  • Specail Preview book with pub. date of Feb. 2017
  • The Gauntlet by Eoin Colfer
  • Rat Queens #1 by Kurtis Wiebe
  • Sample coloring pages from Blue Star

IMG_2638

Take-aways from today:

Book trade people are very polite and nice.

Publishers can be very helpful if you’ve already done a large chunk of your research or ask very general questions.

People will trample other people to get Marissa Meyer’s newest book!

It never hurts to ask.

Metadata is important to a great many people at various levels.

 

That’s all for tonight.  I’m sure I forgot something, but I need sleep.  Once I get home tomorrow, I’ll try to finish Friday and Saturday’s adventures.  Hope everyone enjoyed their day. 🙂

One thought on “BEA Thursday: Day Two

Leave a Reply

