BEA Friday: Day 3

OK, so Friday was the day of lines.  Waiting in line after line after line after line (short break) after line after line.  It was crazy but productive.  It was also a very long day.  I couldn’t sleep, so I was awake and in the shower around 5 AM, which meant I was ready to go line up for my first wait: ticketed authors.  On Thursday, I was after both Leigh Bardugo and Brandon Mull, but they ran out of Leigh before I reached the front.  Friday, I wanted Marissa Meyer and Danielle Paige.  Unfortunately for me (and many, many other fans), there were definitely not enough tickets for Marissa.  But, I snagged Danielle!  And I met a lovely mother and daughter duo in line.

Then, I went to get breakfast at Starbucks.  Line number three was for the show floor because I didn’t have any morning meetings.  I made a beeline to the Macmillan booth to gather tickets for the signings featuring Leigh Bardugo and Stephanie Garber.  After successfully grabbing those, I went to stand in line for the Black Widow drop at Disney’s booth.  (They had a sampler of the second book from Margaret Stohl, an awesome drawstring bag, and a signed limited edition print.)

Then I had a little bit of a break, so I went on a hunt for the booth with the fun looking book.  When I found it, I was in for a treat and a surprise.IMG_2653

The booth featured this little book called Beneath the Fall by Aaron Safronoff from the series Sunborn Rising.  And not only did they have a book, but they also had Oculus setup to show off an early version of the videogame based directly off the world within the book.  I fell in love (and I hadn’t even read any of it yet).  Did I mention the full-color illustrations throughout?

Then I was ready to wait in more lines.

  • Danielle Paige
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Stephanie Garber, which I ended up leaving early
  • Laini Taylor

IMG_2643

Just before lunch, I sat down to listen to the Hot Fall Fiction 2016 panel, which is when I realized that I hadn’t scheduled time for a bathroom break.  So, on my way to find lunch, I made sure to hit the bathroom and re-fill my water bottle.  I also had to go back to the Sunborn Rising booth to tell them that I couldn’t stop thinking about the book and how much I wanted to share it with everyone.  (Spoiler: I told anyone and everyone who would listen to me that they should go check out the booth!)

After lunch, the lines began again.

  • Gene Luen Yang
  • Kendare Blake

I attended the AAP Annual Librarians Book Buzz Part II and learned about some of the smaller publishers’ fall offerings.  And finally, I went to the Surviving Fictional Worlds panel with Sarah Porter, Kristen Simmons, and Susan Dennard.  In between lines, I was able to pick up a few more books as well as the free signed copies.

IMG_2658IMG_2650

That’s all for tonight.  Tune in tomorrow for my exciting adventures at BookCon!

One thought on “BEA Friday: Day 3

Leave a Reply

