BookCon Saturday: Day 4

The last leg of my book convention adventure!!  I was incredibly exhausted when I returned home, so this post is a bit late 😦

Saturday was full of bright spots but was also cluttered with messy planning and horrible lines.  The system for handing out wristbands for author signings was not well policed, and so I was able to only collect one wristband.  (More on that later though.)

IMG_2674

The morning was fairly relaxing as I didn’t have anywhere I needed to be, so I wondered the floor, listening to what people were excited about.  I got into line at the Owlcrate booth (nice long line all day long by the way) and spun the wheel to win an adorable notebook and an Owlcrate tote (so cute!).  Then, I went on a hunt to QuirkECat to enter Quirk Books’ Twitter/Instagram contest and found all four pretty quickly and took my pictures.

At the Anderson’s Bookshop booth, I found a signed copy of Dawn Kurtagich’s The Dead House, which was an amazing story.  The Blue Star Coloring booth was selling their adult coloring books at a discounted price.  There were so many things to see and do.  I sat in on several talks at the Uptown Stage, but my favorite was Truth or Dare with Leigh Bardugo and Marissa Meyer.  They have some awesome chemistry and are a hoot to listen to.

IMG_2677

Which brings back to the wristband signing.  So I knew that Sarah J. Maas would run out of space quickly, so I got in line for Victoria Aveyard.  But, she was out by the time I reached the front of the ridiculous line, so I finally got a place in line to see Marissa Meyer and have her sign my bookplates!!

IMG_2681

She really is quite sweet, and I can’t wait to read her new novel, Heartless.  Well, first I should probably finish Winter, but I don’t want the series to end.  So soon, I will read it soon.  Immediately after leaving Marissa’s line, I went to join the line for Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufmann.  That line was huge.  It went on for two hours, long past the stated close time.  I guess that was partially because they were signing the sequel to Illuminae, Gemina, but I was completely unaware at just how popular that series had become.  CRAZY!

Once, I collected my signatures, it was far too late to go to the last panel on my list, so I did a little more wandering the show floor.  While doing so, several booths were starting to give away their books as they didn’t want to pack and ship them back to their office.  I collected a few fun titles for other people and a couple for myself.  By then, I was completely wiped out from the whole week’s experience and the crush of people.  And I still wasn’t finished!

Anderson’s Bookshop in Naperville was hosting a signing with Sarah J. Maas, and I was going to be there.  Sarah was lovely even as I had her tearing up when I thanked her for writing such genuine representations of hopelessness, PTSD, and depression in A Court of Mist and Fury.  Truly touched my soul, and now I have a fully signed collection of her work up to this point.

IMG_2689

The day ended on a great highlight of the week, and I certainly enjoyed learning more about the book industry.  Hopefully, I’ll get to repeat the experience next year in New York 🙂  I wish you all the best!

 

2 thoughts on “BookCon Saturday: Day 4

Leave a Reply

