Throwback Thursday: Artemis Awakening by Jane Lindskold

I’m more of a fantasy reader usually, which means that I absolutely LOVED Lindskold’s Firekeeper series! However, when I learned that her newest series also had intelligent animal companions, I decided to give it a try. Turns out, Lindskold is just...

I’m more of a fantasy reader usually, which means that I absolutely LOVED Lindskold’s Firekeeper series! However, when I learned that her newest series also had intelligent animal companions, I decided to give it a try.  Turns out, Lindskold is just as talented at science fiction writing as fantasy.  I was immediately pulled in by the characters and think that Lindskold kept good pacing with exposition, world building, and action.  Here’s what you need to know!

Pros:
Strong female lead character
Intelligent animal companions
Interesting, intriguing backstory and world building
Excellent pacing
Relationships have time to develop realistically
It’s the first in a series

Cons:
Choice of plot device (no spoilers here)
Strange “mechanical” blurbs at the end of chapters

Obviously, the pros outweigh the cons 🙂 Mostly the “mechanical” blurbs were lost on me when I read them, but they did make sense the further I read into the story.  I am definitely excited for the next book!

I had my brother-in-law pick up a copy of this title when the author had a signing in Albuquerque, NM.  At about the same time, I was in communication with the author regarding bookplates, which she graciously agreed to sign.  And shortly thereafter, I won the final prize in her contest, and I received an uncorrected proof of the sequel, signed of course!

Leave a Reply

