Throwback Thursday: The Secret Journal of Ichabod Crane by Alex Irvine

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review.
I was intrigued by the concept of a new TV series companion written in diary form, and this book did not disappoint in that aspect. The writing matched Ichabod’s voice perfectly, and...

I was intrigued by the concept of a new TV series companion written in diary form, and this book did not disappoint in that aspect.  The writing matched Ichabod’s voice perfectly, and his insights into modern changes were fun to read.  What I was missing was any photographs for reference or any behind-the-scenes information usually found in a TV show companion.  Overall, good execution of the format but next time I want pictures!  Here’s what you need to know!

Pros:
Ichabod’s voice/character in diary form
Ichabod’s fun remarks on modern trends and fashion
Great recap of the whole first season of Sleepy Hollow
Diary format works well

Cons:
Missing some of the fun stuff companion tie-ins usually have

I received this book from Blogging for Books for an honest review.  I chose this title because I really liked season one of Sleepy Hollow; however, after the finale, my husband and I couldn’t piece together why we should watch season 2.  But it was fun while it lasted 🙂

Leave a Reply

