Throwback Thursday: Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

R: Recommended (This is at the top of the pile.)
Creative Must (Does something different really well.)
This was an amazing retelling/sequel to the world that is Oz! I will freely admit that I might not have read this if it wasn’t for meeting the...

R: Recommended (This is at the top of the pile.)

Creative Must (Does something different really well.)

This was an amazing retelling/sequel to the world that is Oz!  I will freely admit that I might not have read this if it wasn’t for meeting the author at ALA Midwinter 2015, just because I’ve never been in love with the Wizard of Oz.  But I’m very glad I read this because the storytelling was great and the retelling aspect was almost seamless.

Pros:
Amy, the MC, was compelling and likable
Wicked characters did not completely change sides
The new characters mixed well with familiar ones
Characters were diverse and interesting

Cons:
Pacing seemed off sometimes-slow exposition bits
Tin Man/Scarecrow/Lion are now horror-level creepy w/o explanation
Still not convinced why Amy must be the one to kill Dorothy

Some of the cons are rectified with the reading of all the side novellas, which explain a LOT of the backstory I was wondering about while reading this novel.  But I look forward to reading the rest of this series.

Leave a Reply

