Waiting on Wednesday: The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

The Call

Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: August 30th 2016 by David Fickling Books
Here’s a book that I wouldn’t have known about if I hadn’t attended BEA16.  I had wondered over to the Scholastic booth to inquire about The Sleeping Prince, and the lady I spoke with suggested I might like to try The Call, and I’m glad I did.  (I really wish I had gotten her card, so I could thank her properly!)  At the time, I had recently finished reading A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, and when she was describing the “evil” Sidhe fae, I was reminded of how Maas’ fae also returned to the original tales, where the fae were petty and cruel.  No Tinker Bell’s here!
If I had any complaints, it would be that the descriptions of what the fae did to their hunt victims was just a bit too graphic.  However, these go a long way to show the reader how horrible everything is instead of just telling us.  The author did a great job showing instead of telling throughout the whole book, actually.  It was incredible engrossing, if disgustingly creative, and I finished the whole book in two sittings.  I enjoyed the fact that the main character had a physical disability, but that she was also able to hold on to hope through sheer determination and willpower.  It felt believable in an otherwise hopeless scenario.  I also enjoyed the world building.  There was so much going on with the survival schools, the students, the realm the fae live in, and it worked well together to create a fantastic whole.
I don’t want to spoil the ending, but I did want to talk about it a little bit.  I think the author successfully puts forth a question within a larger narrative, and this book answers that question while still leaving the larger narrative lots of room to grow and expand upon the many, multiple other questions that are raised by the answering of the original question.  (This statement will make far more sense once you’ve read the book!)
I have already started alerting friends to watch out for this book, and one friend has already borrowed my copy.  This book may not be for everyone, but anyone who has an interest in the original fae stories, horror, dark fantasy, or thrillers is bound to love The Call.

Summary:

The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller where only one thing is certain . . . you will be Called.

Thousands of years ago, humans banished the Sidhe fairy race to another dimension. The beautiful, terrible Sidhe have stewed in a land of horrors ever since, plotting their revenge . . . and now their day has come.

Fourteen-year-old Nessa lives in a world where every teen will be “Called.” It could come in the middle of the day, it could come deep in the night. But one instant she will be here, and the next she will wake up naked and alone in the Sidhe land. She will be spotted, hunted down, and brutally murdered. And she will be sent back in pieces by the Sidhe to the human world . . . unless she joins the rare few who survive for twenty-four hours and escape unscathed.

Nessa trains with her friends at an academy designed to maximize her chances at survival. But as the days tick by and her classmates go one by one, the threat of her Call lurks ever closer . . . and with it the threat of an even more insidious danger closer to home.

 

Reviewed from an uncorrected proof provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

