Throwback Thursday: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker (Seeker, #1)

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Ad: Additional reading (There’s something better out there.)

Library Read (Don’t buy it yourself.)

I received an ARC of this story from a Sneak Peak TeenReads contest in an exchange for honest answers to a short list of questions.

I was really looking forward to reading a book described as a cross between The Hunger Games and Game of Thrones, but when I started reading, I saw very little resemblance to either of these franchises within the first third of the book.  Honestly, I couldn’t finish the book by the deadline, and I’m not sure that I want to finish it at all.  More likely, I will try to find the ARC a new home with someone who will better appreciate it.

Here are the reasons I wasn’t falling in love with this book:

Worldbuilding: When I first started this tale, I thought it was a medieval fantasy similar to Tamora Piere’s Tortall.  However, when the characters mentioned a television and radio, London and Japan, I was mightily confused as to when this story was taking place.

Title: The main characters, Quin and John, talk a lot about their training to become Seekers, but no one actually explains what a Seeker is or their history.  Just that there is a long history, most of which has been lost over the generations, and that it is a big honor full of secrets.  Maybe this is explained later in the book, but not in the first third that I read.

Very Important Missing Scene(s): There was plenty of build-up to the moment that Quin and her friend Shinobu take their Oath to become Seekers.  John didn’t pass his test so doesn’t join them, but after the group of Quin, Shinobu, his father, her father, and the other two people pass through the portal, the chapter ends.  The next one picks up after they spill back out of the portal. Quin looks at the blood on her hand and thinks that her father betrayed her and lied about Seekers, but there is no recap on what took place.  Again, maybe this finally happens later, but when I needed it, it was missing.

There were some things that I did like about this book, which is why I made it through as much as I did.  The author’s writing style flowed easily, and I was able to read a large section without knowing how much time had passed.  The magical weapons that are described as whip-swords were fascinating, especially as they changed form with only a thought from their wielder.  I hope this author tries her hand at writing again soon, but I think I’ll wait for a different series.

Leave a Reply

