Top Ten Things I Like About Covers

It’s been awhile since my last Top Ten, so today I wanted to talk about things I like about covers.  Next week, I’ll share what I don’t like about covers.

Covers are a fantastic marketing tool, and everyone knows the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” even it we don’t follow it.  I’ve seen plenty of lists on blogs, GoodReads, and other social media where people have discussed what they like and don’t like, and I mostly agreed with what other people are saying but wanted to share some specific examples.

Here’s some of my favorite covers with why I am drawn to them!  Feel free to leave your opinions in the comments about what you like and dislike about the following covers.

Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #2)

 

This cover was just revealed TWO WEEKS AGO!  And while I liked the first book’s cover, A Promise of Fire, this one is even more striking.  The model’s pose doesn’t look stiff or impossible, and those blues really pop.  I don’t know much about Greek clothing, but this matches what little I have read about, so kudos for matching the outfit to the setting as well.

 

 

 

 

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

 

 

Here’s a cover that’s non-gender specific, so hopefully even more people will read and enjoy this story.  I like that the symmetry is actually asymmetrical because it keeps bringing my eyes back to the cover.  Plus, I have a soft spot for wings, especially butterflies & moths.

 

 

 

 

Beneath the Fall

 

 

With this cover, I like both the font and the color contrasts.  Paring warmer purples with a splash of red is visually stunning, and when you add in the interesting font of title and series, you get an eye-grabbing cover.  Also, the art style matches the 40 full-color illustrations on the inside!

 

 

 

 

Shadow Magic

 

 

Here’s another cover that features contrast and great font; however, I really like the image on this one.  The characters have enough definition to be recognizable, but the shadowy aspect of the figures still allows the reader to fill in those details while reading.

 

 

 

 

Artemis Awakening

 

 

I can’t quite describe what I like about this cover, just that it draws me in.  And I like cats. And swirling patterns.  And Jane Lindskold.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Selection (The Selection, #1)

 

 

There’s a lot of hate for ballgown covers, but I think that was mostly because it became a trend and showed up on books that had no ballgown described or situations that called for them.  I do like these kinds of covers when it matches the story inside the book though.  Especially this one 🙂

 

 

 

 

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

 

 

This was not the original cover!  I was much happier with this one because it lent itself to the plot so much better.  And it’s more visually appealing.  The rest of the stories followed this example with a dressier version of the character shown on the back cover.

 

 

 

 

 

The School for Good and Evil (The School for Good and Evil, #1)

 

 

The like the juxtaposition and manifestation of good and evil on this cover.  The detail for both Schools is exquisite and interesting.  This book also had lineart throughout the text, which I enjoyed while reading.

 

 

 

 

 

Poison Study (Study #1)

 

 

I really liked the original cover for Poison Study back when Luna was still an imprint with Harlequin.  It gave a better sense of the setting and world building aspects.  The YA cover wasn’t terrible, just extremely vague.  And the new MIRA covers were pretty but featured the main character in long flowing dresses/robes, which never happened in the story.

 

 

 

The High King's Tomb (Green Rider, #3)

 

 

I really like all five of the Green Rider covers, but this one is my absolute favorite due to the fantastic rendering of this black stallion.  It’s such a powerful image and matches the tone and plot of the book.  Great pairing!

 

 

 

 

 

Shifting Shadows: Stories from the World of Mercy Thompson (Mercy Thompson #0.1, #0.6, #0.8, #1.5, #4.5, #5.5, #7.4)

 

 

The artist that creates the covers for the Mercy Thompson series does a great job with the subject matter.  I love the attention to detail and the backgrounds.  I do wish he was more consistent with the portrayal of Mercy’s tattoos, but otherwise the covers do a great job of introducing the reader to the story inside.

Leave a Reply

