Fangirl Friday: Author Signatures Pt. 1

It has come to my attention that people might want to see & learn about my author signature collection.  In the last three years or so, I’ve had the opportunity to meet many of my favorite authors, and I’ve been actively contacting others to see if they would be willing to sign bookplates sent via SASE (self-addressed, stamped envelope).  Some of them already have their own system already in place, but almost half do not.  So, I was able to work with those authors to make my own bookplates.

I have already shared a few of these in past posts; however, I haven’t been very diligent.  Not sure how many parts there’ll be as I have a rather large collection now, but I think each post will only feature 2-4 authors, pictures of the collected signatures, and the story behind each.  So, look out for these posts on Fridays!  Here’s part 1 🙂

img_3055

IM000667.JPG

This is one of the earliest author signatures from my collection.  In high school, I won a contest Melissa Marr had posted on her blog with a then recent photo from an ice storm that perfectly covered this colorful plant, which I explained as matching Donia’s personality.  The prize was a Rath & Ruins t-shirt, and it came with this lovely little promotional card.  Unfortunately, I have never met her in person.

img_3056

Another early acquisition from when Luna was an imprint from Harlequin.  I don’t remember exactly how I received these, but I think it was a promotion during book 3’s release.  It for sure wasn’t an in person signing.

img_3057

I actually got to meet Jim C. Hines at ALA 2013 when I attended as a student.  He was a last minute addition to the signing list, so I didn’t have a chance to bring any books to have signed; however, the publisher was providing free final copies of the second Libriomancer book at the signing.  I might have been content to have just the one signed book if it had been book 1 or the final book in the series.  Unfortunately, it bothered me that book 2 was the only signed edition I had from him, so I contacted Hines through Twitter via private message.  Not only did he have his own bookplates, but he was willing to send me the requested number (2 at that time) to me without an SASE.  Plus, he included a signed bookmark and a temporary tattoo!

img_3058

Jane Lindskold is one of the more famous authors on my favorites list, so I was sure if she would have time to respond to my request.  Much to my delight, she did!  And although she doesn’t have any bookplates, she suggested that if I had created some, she would sign them.  This is what led me to making my own, personalized to the author, bookplates, but that was before I started using book cover images for the bookplates.  When she sent back my SASE, it also included a little wooden bookmark stamped with a wolf and signed on the backside.

That’s it for this week.  Check in next week to see some more author signatures from my collection!

Leave a Reply

