Throwback Thursday: The Storyteller’s Daughter by Cameron Dokey

The Storyteller's Daughter by Cameron Dokey

It’s been awhile since I had a chance to re-read a book, so I chose a shorter one to focus on.  I don’t remember what exactly triggered my desire to re-read The Storyteller’s Daughter by Cameron Dokey, but I’m glad that I picked it up.

I think my favorite part of this book is how the author interwove the “parables” into the main story without compromising either part.  Or it might be that the narrator breaks the fourth wall occasionally, which I greatly enjoy in both books and movies.  I do know that the initial reason I picked it up, when I was younger, was because of my love for the 1001 nights.  And although I haven’t read all of those tales, I have read quite a few re-tellings/adaptations that were quite fun.

I haven’t had a chance to read The Wrath and the Dawn yet, but with all the amazing reviews, it may bump this version from my favorite version’s seat.  Here are just a few of the others I’ve read over the years:

Shadow SpinnerCastle in the Air (Howl's Moving Castle, #2)Keturah and Lord Death

What do you think?  Have you read any of these?  Which is your favorite version?  Did I miss it?  Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

