FanGirl Friday: Author Signatures Pt. 5

Apologies for the gap of author signature posts, but life has been pretty hectic and I, honestly, forgot about this weekly post for a couple of weeks.

Anyway, this week’s theme is Childhood Favorites, where I share with you some of the most prized signatures in my collection from authors that I loved as a kid and still like to re-read occasionally.

fullsizerender-1

Heir Apparent was one of my all time favorite books, and it still holds up today.  I had to wait patiently for my SASE and bookplates to travel through the publisher before I received Vivian Vande Velde’s reply.  Not only did she sign the plates I had sent, she included a postcard apologizing for the long wait.

fullsizerender

I didn’t think I would be able to get a reply from Bruce Coville since he’s such a big author, but I’m glad he answered my question via his website.  While I loved the beginning books of The Unicorn Chronicles better than the newest, they still hold a revered place on my shelves.

img_3144

If you haven’t read Fablehaven yet, you have until March to read all five books before the first book in the sequel series is published.  I’ve met Brandon twice now at conventions/conferences, and he is a fun author.

fullsizerender-3

Mercedes Lackey is right up there next to Tamora Pierce as longest running favorite authors.  I still haven’t had a chance to meet her since she attends few conventions, but some friends agreed to take a couple books with them to DragonCon 2015 to collect her signature.  And, Larry Dixon was signing with her, so bonus signature!

 

No worries about next Friday’s post, I already have it scheduled and ready to go!  Feel free to share any of your author signature stories in the comments!

Leave a Reply

