Manic Monday: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless

Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: November 8th 2016 by Feiwel & Friends

Even though I received an advance copy of this book at the ALA Annual meeting, I had loaned it to some co-workers first while I caught up on other reading.  I finally got it back a couple weeks ago, and had to stay up late last night to finish reading it!
This book is just as good as everyone says it is!  I don’t know that I love it as much as Cinder, but I loved how the author wove in so many great references.  Importantly, since this is an explanation/prequel for the Queen of Hearts, the emotions were spot on all the way through the book.  It should come as no surprise that this book utilizes a wide range of emotions from love, envy, and wistfulness to disappointment, anger, and hatred.  There’s heartbreak built into the story, but it’s craftily done.
Image result for queen of hearts
Photo courtesy of Discovery Children’s Museum
If I’m being honest, I was a little disappointed that some of the most iconic bits from the Alice in Wonderland pop culture felt shoe-horned into the story.  Most notably the red vs. white roses.  I don’t want to spoil anything, just know that when this revelation happened I was mildly disappointed.  It made sense, I just was hoping for something different, I guess.
Normally, I don’t pay as much attention to the descriptive text in a first read-through; however, I found myself enjoying the baking and treats explanations.  Meyer did a fantastic job at making hungry while reading this book.  And far more interested in tarts and macarons than I was previously.  I may need to try my hand at something different next time I need to make desserts.
Overall, I truly enjoyed this story.  It works well for anyone familiar with the Wonderland story (book or Disney movie) and all those who enjoy a good re-telling or re-imagining.  I look forward to reading whatever Marissa Meyer plans on writing next as I can only imagine it will continue to match her amazing skill with words!
Image result for queen of hearts
Ask’s Artwork for FairyTale -Another- Queen of Hearts

Summary:

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland—the infamous Queen of Hearts—she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author dazzles us with a prequel to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

One thought on “Manic Monday: Heartless by Marissa Meyer

  1. Ironically, I’ve actually had this book on hold from the library since February. I do not lie. I actually thought I had been mistaken and the book actually came out in February because I was able to order it! I was so excited when I opened up my email and had something telling me it had finally come in. 🙂 That’s one way to learn about a new release!
    In any case, I’m glad you liked it! I’m so excited to read it. 🙂
    -Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

