#SerendipiTEA Tour & Giveaway featuring Meg Eden and POST HIGH-SCHOOL REALITY QUEST

Meg Eden

Today I’m participating in something special, a blog tour that pairs several authors with their new books and specially chosen teas that match some aspect of the books being featured.  I may not be much of a tea drinker but this sounded like so much fun, I had to participate!

I was paired up with Meg Eden, the author of Post High-School Reality Quest, which is a very interesting piece that explores being a nerdy girl written in the style of a text adventure game.

Here’s what Meg had to say about her tea and her book!  And don’t forget to check out the other participants in the tour (links below) and the giveaway where you can win some of the teas and books from the tour!!

A little bit describing your tea:

The tea is a nice dark Pu-erh tea. I nicknamed it “Eau de Narwhal”—which I’ll maybe explain a little more later.

A little bit about your book:

Post-High School Reality Quest is a novel about a college freshman who thinks she’s stuck in a video game—the question for us as readers is: is she actually in a game? Or is it all in her head? If you remember text adventure games from the 80s (e.g., You are in a room. There is a staff on the wall. Exits are: out), that’s what PHSRQ is: it’s literally narrated as a text adventure game. There’s a text parser narrating her life. My friend challenged me a while ago that I should write a novel as a text adventure game, and when I did, I found that it was really fun. Also, I’m a rebel, so writing in second person and knowing that goes against the rules of every writing class ever was thrilling. 🙂

IMG_8629

How your tea fits into your book world:

I was really stumped on what to do for the tea when my husband and I went to a tea shop in Arizona. We were on a family vacation, and he and my mom in law had just finished reading the book. My mom in law had this conversation-starter (if you could call it that) with all the family: that Meg had this word in her novel that no one knew the meaning of. When they asked what, she said it was benthic. When they looked appropriately confused, I’d be asked to explain the word benthic, that is: the deep dark cold waters of the ocean where certain creatures (including narwhals) live. So in short, benthic was the word of the trip.

My husband was thinking about this when we went tea shopping, so we started smelling teas for something cool that evokes the word “benthic”. The worker at the tea shop suggested the Pu-erh tea, which has this smoky, oceany scent, and it was perfect!

Buffy, the protagonist of the book, is an introvert who resonates with narwhals, creatures that are rarely spotted and often hidden away in their dark benthic waters. The tea recalls and recreates that nice, relaxing introvert benthic space. I’m sure if Buffy had a glass of Eau de Narwhal, she’d approve! 🙂

Aerial view of Narwhals (Monodon monoceros), in ice break : Stock Photo

A little about your tea life:

I live off tea. We have a tea shelf in our kitchen—it is literally my life force. We live right by a Chick Fil A, and I have a refill mug that I get filled with unsweet tea on my way to work in the morning. Some days I go to Einstein Bros to write and get my mug refilled with their Passion Fruit tea. My favorite teas though are green teas, so we have a bunch of different loose leaf greens that I make (my favorite probably being my Apple Raspberry green tea from a Pennsylvania market). I end most days with a glass of Chamomile. My teas are almost my circadian rhythm—they tell me where I am in my day, and help prepare me for whatever’s coming next: whether that’s work or sleep!

Links:

Twitter

Facebook

Website

Post-High School Reality Quest: Goodreads

Post-High School Reality Quest: Amazon

Bio: 

Meg Eden’s work has been published in various magazines, including Rattle, Drunken Boat, Poet Lore, RHINO and Gargoyle. She teaches at the University of Maryland. She has four poetry chapbooks, and her novel “Post-High School Reality Quest” is forthcoming June 2017 from California Coldblood, an imprint of Rare Bird Books. Find her online at http://www.megedenbooks.com or on Twitter at @ConfusedNarwhal.

Here’s the giveaway link!  a Rafflecopter giveaway

tea tour banner (1).jpg

Other SerentipiTEA tour participants

April 1st–The Regal Critiques: JM Sullivan with THE WANDERLAND CHRONICLES
http://reading-is-dreaming-with-open-eyes.blogspot.hu/

April 2nd–Ohana Reads: Leah Henderson with ONE SHADOW ON THE WALL
http://ohanareads.blogspot.ca

April 3rd–YA and Wine: KM Robinson with GOLDEN
https://yaandwine.com

April 4th–The YA Book Traveler: Faith Boughan with CINDERELLA NECROMANCER
http://theyabooktraveler.com/

April 5th–YA Wednesdays: Linsey Miller with A MASK OF SHADOWS
https://yawednesdays.com/

April 6th–Bibliobibuli YA: Leslie Hauser with CHASING EVELINE
http://bibliobibuliya.com/

April 7th–Rattle the Pages: Gwen C. Katz with AMONG THE RED STARS
Http://rattlethepages.blogspot.com

April 9th–Pirates and Pixie Dust: Amber Duell with FRAGILE CHAOS
https://piratesnpixiedust.wordpress.com/blog/

April 10th–lollipopsbooks: Abby J. Reed with WHEN PLANETS FALL
http://lollipopsbooks.blogspot.com/

April 11th–SimplyAllyTea: Carrie Ann DiRisio with BROODING YA’S HERO GUIDE
www.simplyallytea.com

April 12–Bookish Fan Girl: Amanda Hanson with SOMETHING BEAUTIFUL
www.bookishfangirl.com

April 13th–For the Sake of Reading: Rosalyn Eves with BLOOD ROSE REBELLION
http://forthesakeofreading.com

April 14th–Redd’s Reads: Meg Eden with POST HIGH-SCHOOL REALITY QUEST
https://reddsreads.wordpress.com

April 15th–Tales of the Ravenous Reader: Kristin L. Gray with VILONIA BEEBE TAKES CHARGE
Www.talesoftheravenousreader.com

April 16th–Little red bookshelf: Chelsea Sedoti with THE HUNDRED LIES OF LIZZIE LOVETT
https://littleredbookshelfblog.wordpress.com/

April 17th–Emily Reads Everything: Shaila Patel with SOULMATED
www.emilyreadseverything.com

Leave a Reply

