Waiting on Wednesday: Fae World by Eve A. Hunt

Fae World (Yew Queen, #2)

Kindle Edition
Expected publication: March 2nd 2020

I received an earc as part of the ARC team and hunted typos for the author in exchange for an honest review.

As you may remember, I reviewed book one late last year and enjoyed it very much. I think that anyone looking for more of this story will be incredibly happy with this second installment. Fae World picks up right where we left off, which allows us to learn more about the fae and mages. Be ready for some steamy scenes that are NSFW if you’re trying to read it on your work computer (during breaks, of course!).

I liked the way in which the author was able to convey character growth while adding new characters to the narrative. It didn’t feel cluttered at all. We also get a fun competition aspect in the form of a medieval tournament. And a dark unicorn!! I hope he comes back in the third book because he’s probably my favorite side character right now.

It’s a good thing that book three is slated for a May release (I believe) because even though we answer many of my questions, a whole new area has caught my curiosity and I’m ready for more!

Summary:

I always thought if I had magical powers, life would be cake.
Wrong.

My fated mate is the enemy of my kind, I have days to figure out how to keep him from literally going up in smoke, and at any moment one of my magic’s surges will shock my heart and strike me down.

If I don’t learn how to control my mage abilities pronto, I’m dead. I thought that portalling to hang with other mages would solve things, and I’d find some rad crone-like chick to help me train all epic style. But it seems I’ve landed myself, my best friend, and my doomed fated mate in a hidden kingdom where my kind are enslaved for eternity. Not awesome.

This is not the training I was hoping for. And with every day we’re away from the cursed castle, Lucus and his brothers weaken further. If I don’t get us the heck out of this super creepy Scottish fae kingdom, all of us—the 16th century guys and us modern gals—are history.

Grab the second book in the Yew Queen series today for a steamy read that’s perfect for fans of CN Crawford, Linsey Hall, and Laura Thalassa! 

If you like vampires, fae, fated mates, enemies to lovers, shifters, werewolves, and more, you’ll love this series.

Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett

Foundryside (Founders, #1)

Hardcover, 512 pages
Expected publication: August 21st 2018 by Crown Publishing Group

Having sat in a book buzz at ALA Annual last month, I learned about this fun new book that comes out in just a little over a month.  I haven’t read anything by this author before, but hearing him speak about this title made me intrigued.  I was lucky enough to snag a copy, so I hope to be reading it soon!

Summary:

In a city that runs on industrialized magic, a secret war will be fought to overwrite reality itself–the first in a dazzling new fantasy series from City of Stairs author Robert Jackson Bennett. 

Sancia Grado is a thief, and a damn good one. And her latest target, a heavily guarded warehouse on Tevanne’s docks, is nothing her unique abilities can’t handle.

But unbeknownst to her, Sancia’s been sent to steal an artifact of unimaginable power, an object that could revolutionize the magical technology known as scriving. The Merchant Houses who control this magic–the art of using coded commands to imbue everyday objects with sentience–have already used it to transform Tevanne into a vast, remorseless capitalist machine. But if they can unlock the artifact’s secrets, they will rewrite the world itself to suit their aims.

Now someone in those Houses wants Sancia dead, and the artifact for themselves. And in the city of Tevanne, there’s nobody with the power to stop them.

To have a chance at surviving–and at stopping the deadly transformation that’s under way–Sancia will have to marshal unlikely allies, learn to harness the artifact’s power for herself, and undergo her own transformation, one that will turn her into something she could never have imagined.

Waiting on Wednesday: Two Dark Reigns by Kendare Blake

Two Dark Reigns (Three Dark Crowns #3)

Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: September 4th 2018 by HarperTeen
I just finished One Dark Throne not too long ago and am pumped for book 3’s release!!  This series hits a lot of notes for me and the characterization is spectacular.  I’m hoping we get some more world lore in books 3 and 4 to flesh out why some of these things are happening.  But I’m very glad the author has more to share.

Summary:

Katharine sits on the throne, Mirabella and Arsinoe are in hiding, and an unexpected renegade is about to wage a war of her own. The crown has been won, but these queens are far from done.

Waiting on Wednesday/Getting Ready for C2E2: The Fandom by Anna Day and The Con Artist by Fred Van Lente

The Fandom

Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: April 24th 2018 by Chicken House
I am actually reading this one right now!  I was so excited about the new stories being told that are connected in some way to conventions and fandom 🙂  I decided to share two books today instead of one since I’m attending my first comic con in Chicago this weekend.  For work even!  I’m trying to bring new graphic novels into the company and this should be an awesome opportunity to talk with a bunch of publishers and creators.  Back to the book.  It sounds awesome!  I’m just a little concerned that the setup is for a dream sequence, and I hate those.  Unless done extremely well.  Like, Kristen Britain levels of done well.  We will see…

Summary:

Violet’s in her element. Cosplay at the ready, she can’t wait to feel part of her favorite fandom: The Gallows Dance, a mega book and movie franchise that she and her friends know EVERY WORD of (canon and fanfic included).

But at Comic Con, a freak accident transports Violet and her friends into the story for real. And in just the first five minutes, they cause the death of the heroine, and get taken prisoner by the rebel group she was supposed to lead to victory.

It’s up to Violet to take her place, and play out the plot the way it was written. But stories have a life of their own, and when you change the script in one place, the rest gets revised too…

The Con Artist

Paperback, 288 pages
Expected publication: July 10th 2018 by Quirk Books
This is another fantastic-sounding story!  More mystery than fantasy, but that cover is so much fun 🙂  I can’t wait to read this one and delve into comic con culture from another angle.  I am loving this trend and can’t wait to share more titles that feature it!

Summary:

There’s murder at San Diego Comic Con in this entertaining summer read from a Marvel/DC comics veteran Fred Van Lente, featuring illustrations in classic comic book style.

Comic book illustrator Michael Yoo is having a terrible week. He’s just arrived in San Diego for Comic-Con — the annual nerd Mardi Gras that triples the beachside city’s population with 150,000 fans. Michael hopes to spend the next five days working his booth in Artist’s Alley, where he’ll sign autographs and sell sketches for $40 a pop. Instead he’s implicated in the death of his editor, the widely feared and reviled Danny Lieber. There are plenty of suspects onhand — from rival illustrators to burlesque cos-players. But the most valuable clues might be hidden in Michael’s own sketchbook. He’s spent a good portion of the convention illustrating people he’s met and places he’s visited, and he’s inadvertantly captured some very important information. The devil is in the details, and readers who pay careful attention to this book’s black-and-white sketches will be on the right trail to unmask the murderer.

Waiting on Wednesday: Burning Magic by Joshua Khan

Burning Magic (Shadow Magic, #3)

Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: April 10th 2018 by Disney-Hyperion
If you’ve been following my blog at all, then you have probably noticed my love for this series!  Joshua has done such a great job twisty classic horror tropes and creating strong, round characters for middle grade readers.  It’s just a fantastic series all around, so you should definitely check out books one and two before picking up this one next month!

Summary:

In Book 3, when Lily, aka the “witch queen” and bat-rider extraordinaire Thorn travel to Sultanate of Fire, things go terribly wrong. Instead of celebrating a reunion with their old friend K’leef, they are thrust into royal murder, an epic quest, and a deadly battle for the throne. While investigating the murder, Lily learns shocking truths about her life that could destroy all she has achieved. Yet, among the ruins of her old life, she has the opportunity to become someone greater . . . and more terrifying. Thorn and the magnificent bat, Hades, join the timid K’leef and the idiotic Gabriel Solar in a quest to find a phoenix. These fire birds are the key to saving the sultanate, but they nest within the Shardlands. The boys must defeat not only the monsters of that magical wilderness, but also rivals eager to claim the throne for themselves. Rivals that include a renegade from House Shadow . . . Chilling surprises, ghostly encounters, and belly laughs are just some of the treats in store for readers of this burning-hot desert adventure.

Waiting on Wednesday: Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach by Kelly Robson

Gods, Monsters, and the Lucky Peach

Paperback, 176 pages
Expected publication: March 13th 2018 by Tor.com
This one looks really cool!  And I really haven’t heard very much about it!  Which is a shame, so I’m giving it a shout-out today.  If the cover isn’t enough to intrigue you, then check out the summary below.  I’m definitely looking forward to this crazy little time traveling, eco-disaster story.

Summary:

Experience this far-reaching, mind-bending science fiction adventure that uses time travel to merge climate fiction with historical fantasy. From Kelly Robson, Aurora Award winner, Campbell, Nebula, and Theodore Sturgeon finalist, and author of Waters of Versailles.

Discover a shifting history of adventure as humanity clashes over whether to repair their ruined planet or luxuriate in a less tainted pass.

In 2267, Earth has just begun to recover from worldwide ecological disasters. Minh is part of the generation that first moved back up to the surface of the Earth from the underground hells, to reclaim humanity’s ancestral habitat. She’s spent her entire life restoring river ecosystems, but lately the kind of long-term restoration projects Minh works on have been stalled due to the invention of time travel. When she gets the opportunity take a team to 2000 BC to survey the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, she jumps at the chance to uncover the secrets of the shadowy think tank that controls time travel technology.

Waiting on Wednesday: January 2018 Releases

Hey all!  This year is full of fantastic releases, and I want to make sure I’m featuring as many as possible as I focus on reading my backlog.  Sprinkled with some new releases, of course!  So, to that end, here is the list of January releases in fantasy and science fiction across all ages.  Enjoy!

Hoping to Read Soon!

The Hazel WoodReign of the FallenThe Night Masquerade (Binti, #3)The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air, #1)

Excited for the Release!

Reign the Earth (The Elementae, #1)Cast in Deception (Chronicles of Elantra, #13)Markswoman (Asiana, #1)Zenith (The Androma Saga, #1)Deadly Sweet (Spellwork Syndicate, #1)Naondel (The Red Abbey Chronicles, #2)Gunslinger GirlEverlessA Conspiracy of StarsShadow Weaver (Shadow Weaver #1)

Are you looking forward to any of these new releases?  Did I miss one of your most anticipateds?  Let me know in the comments!